Electricians License to rip you off!

The Upcoming requirement for EICR (Electrical Reports) is an Electricians License to rip you off.
When the Government impose all these regulations on Landlords, they never consider the cost and conflict it can cause.
I am a Retired Electrician and don’t have the current qualification to do EICR testing, so was forced to use an Electrician in Bicester. In the report he marked an item down as Unsatisfactory C2, when it should have been C3 meaning Improvement Recommended, but does not mean the Installation should fail the Test.
He then offered to rectify the item for £180.00 which was a 10 minute job he could have done whilst there, especially as I asked him to contact me from the Property if he found any Minor problems.
Needless to say I did not ask him to go back and rectify the problem.
I intend to report this incident to the NICEIC, but from experience it will fall on deaf Ears.

Realistically virtually every current installation will be in the C3 Category, and that is fine, it complied at the time of Installation.
All I can say is beware of rogue Electricians and query the EICR report in detail before paying for any remedial work.

3 Likes

I would only use an electrician from this list (https://www.electricalcompetentperson.co.uk) for an EICR report as you have some redress if they do such things. I also asked mine in advance about things like plastic consumer unit housings and their thoughts on the interval between tests as some landlords have found problems in both these areas.

2 Likes

Robert21,

Thank you for your contribution, just moments ago I paid for my 2nd EICR + remedial repairs, for as you put it a 10-minute job to install “missing grommet” which caused the C2 fail and cost of £000s.

Feeling thoroughly ripped off, thank you for list of reputable electricians, the firm I used is on it offering both Certs. and remedial work.

Hi Maryanne

The list was not from me, OpenRent must have added it.