House for rent does it sound legit?

Hi I’m new here and have a question! I came across a house I like which is local to me and has everything I need/ want. I contact the person via Facebook messenger as I saw the advertisement through facebook marketplace, we have then exchanged emails and said because she lives aboard she will be using open rent which is fine. But because I’m new to this I would really like some answers, the landlord said we need to send her all my details such as name email address which is normal and she’s asked for a proof of id like passport. However the house isn’t advertised on open rent? She said after I have sent her my all details I listed above she will give my details to open rent and they will send me a link to manage a booking with the contract and keys to me it sounds legit but just wanted to make sure as the house isn’t up for advertising. Thank you :smiling_face:

Do not part with any money except thru open rent Facebook is full of scams Check she owns it by Land Registry Website

4 Likes

You have written exactly what is going on with me. I wonder if it’s the same house?!

1 Like

Same scammer maybe ? PWC

2 Likes

What house is it if you don’t mind me asking ? It could be the same!

1 Like

What house is it if you don’t mind me asking. As it might be the same one?

In Montpelier, Bristol

Can I ask what the so called landlord name is as the house I want is based in Bedford

Landlord is called Samantha Easton.

Is that the same name?

No it’s a different one but obviously doing the same thing

3 Likes

OR do not keep the keys for any property as far as I am aware. Its a scam.

1 Like

FB Market Place has become scam central. Ferrari for £5,000? No problem sir, just send me money and your bank details for deposit return …

2 Likes

If you rent a property via Facebook you will almost certainly be ripped off. No legitimate, reliable landlord would advertise exclusively there.

3 Likes